How to save elements as templates

How to save elements as templates

Save elements as templates when you want to reuse screens, layouts, components, or UI elements across your designs.

Before you start

  1. Make sure you have permission to edit the board and save templates in the workspace.
  2. Screens, diagram elements, and sections cannot be saved as templates.

How to save elements as a template

  1. Open the board that contains the elements you want to save.
  2. Select the screen, UI element, group, or multiple elements you want to save.
  3. Click Save on the toolbar.


  4. Enter a template name and choose a category to help organize it. If syncing is available, choose whether to enable it for the template.


  5. Confirm to save the template.
After the template is saved, it will be available from the Saved Templates panel. From there, you can reuse it, rename it, move it to another category, or delete it depending on your permission and where the template is saved.


For more details, see How to reuse saved templates.
Idea
To create a new category when saving a template, type the category name in the Category field, then select Create new from the dropdown menu.

Save elements as templates in paid plan

On paid plans, you can choose how the template is saved beside the board level, and whether it should stay in sync.

  1. Save location
    1. Save to this board only: The template is available to access and reused only in the current board.
    2. Save to Workspace Library: The template is saved to the workspace library so it can be reused across boards in the workspace.
  2. Enable syncing
    1. Yes: Updates all copies when changes are made to the original template.
    2. No: Saves a static snapshot of the selected design without syncing future changes.
Need more help?
If this does not solve your issue, contact support and include a screenshot if possible.