Change
a member’s role when you need to update what they can access or do in your workspace.
Before you start
- Make sure you have permission to manage workspace members. Only the Workspace Owner and Workspace Admins can manage workspace members.
- You can only assign roles based on your workspace plan, available licenses, and your own permission level.
How to change a member’s role
- Open the workspace where you want to update a member’s role.
- Open the Workspace menu. Select Workspace settings.

- Go to Members in Free plan or Members & Guests in paid plans.

- Find the member whose role you want to update. Open the role dropdown next to their name.

- Select the new role you want to assign.

The member’s access will be updated based on the new role.
Note
- You cannot assign a role that is higher than your own permission level.
- On paid plans, Workspace Owners, Admins, and Editors require licenses. If there are no available licenses, you may need to add more licenses before assigning a paid role.
- To transfer ownership, use the workspace ownership transfer flow instead of changing a member’s role.
Need more help?
If this does not solve your issue, contact support and include a screenshot if possible.